The Whole World

I love stories. I like to tell animated stories of crazy things that happen. I like to see how characters develop over the course of a book or movie. I especially enjoy hearing people tell their own stories.

the-whole-world-2
Practicing Chinese calligraphy skills

In Haiti, stories abound. Between teaching and living here, I hear many stories from many different places. In the mornings, I read with my students. Ancient Rome, ancient Greece, feudal Japan, Antarctica, a boxcar housing four children in the woods, Narnia, and an island named after dolphins are just some of the places we’ve visited within the pages of books. The world map in my classroom is markable and covered with wet erase marks documenting our travels.

 

I’m starting to understand what it means to have a global perspective.

 

the-whole-world-5
Our World Markable Map

I’ve also had the opportunity to meet many people. In the first part November, several teams came down. It was cool to meet new people and hear their stories. I was touched by everyone’s generous hearts. It’s also fun to make new friends. I even got to make a new kitten friend. One day, one of the people visiting who is a vet bought a cat at market. She thought the cat could help catch the rats. She called, got permission, and now we have a little kitty. The cat’s name is Isabella and she’s my roomie until she gets a little bigger and can live outside.

the-whole-world-1
Isabella being my assistant for the day.

I also enjoy talking with the Haitians. Often, when I ask how people are doing, they will respond, “Mwen byen ak Jezu (I’m good in Jesus).” There are many challenges the people living here face. The strength and faith I’ve witnessed in the people here amazes me. Many live difficult stories well with deep faith.

The other day, a small group of us went to visit someone who was in the hospital. We went during afternoon visiting hours. It was us along with some Haitian friends and family. While we were there, we all prayed with her. In the United States, I am used to taking turns when people pray out loud or just having one person pray. That day, I learned when people in Haiti pray for each other, they all pray out loud at the same time. I couldn’t understand anything (and not just because everyone was speaking in Creole). I couldn’t even hear my own voice. But, it was so beautiful. Everyone was fervently interceding before God. It was so loud. I am certain no person could hear me above the noise. In fact, I don’t know if any individual voices could be picked out, but I’m confident God heard all of us.

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

I find myself amazed by the vastness of God’s love. I am astounded how He can love everyone: every single person in the whole world. He knows every person’s story. He knows every country’s story. He knows the future, past, and present. He sent His Son to save everyone, everywhere that we may know Him. He hears us all. He’s got the world, the whole wide world, in His hands.

the-whole-world-3

Praises

  • Hosler children are eager to learn
  • God’s faithfulness in every place and situation
  • New friends and experiences

Requests

  • Grace and strength in teaching the children
  • Health and protection for everyone here
  • Those impacted by the effects of Hurricane Matthew and those suffering from Cholera
Leave a Reply

