Lots of Lasts

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

Last Revive
Indoor “bonfire” service for last Revive service of the semester

April has been filled with many lasts–last college paper, last Revive service, last college bible study, last education club meeting, last day of student teaching, and probably last time playing games with college friends for a while. All of these events were quite bittersweet (with the exception of the last college paper—finishing that was just exciting). It’s tough to say goodbye.

 

IMAG2112.jpeg
My students all wrote me thank you letters for my last day! It was super sweet. My heart is full 🙂

There were many celebrations in there as well. There was the symposium awards, student teacher dinner, baccalaureate service, and of course commencement. There have been some exciting firsts as well. I got my first teaching job, first teaching license, and first college degree.

 

It’s weird to process everything. I’m not certain it has really sunk in yet that I have graduated college.

Bacculaurate
Baccalaureate Service

One of the things I enjoyed about graduation is having many different voices speak words of wisdom into my life. It’s wonderful to hear many different perspectives from people who have been through this before. It was also a blessing to have many excellent speakers at these prestigious ceremonies.

Jayla Baptism
Picture of most of the campus ministry family as we celebrated Jayla’s baptism (so excited/proud of her! <3). Loved getting to know all of these people during college

However, the words that stood out the most to me didn’t come from a voice on the stage. As I was getting ready for graduation, my cousin texted me. He congratulated me thoroughly then added, “Just as you walk onto that stage today, continue to walk in Proverbs 3:5-6. God has a clear path for you I am so excited to see you walk in.” In the middle of being bombarded by lasts and firsts, that image of continuity coupled with the promise of that verse was refreshing. I walk with God wherever I go.

Whether I am worried about tripping on stage at graduation, stepping under the arch, or simply strolling around, He is the one who makes my paths straight as I learn to trust in Him. When everything else is changing, He is constant. As I go from college out to Haiti in a few months, this promise is immensely comforting.

Side note: This is a cool quote shared by the undergraduate commencement speaker that almost made the main blog post, but not quite. Emerson offers an interesting perspective on happiness and the purpose of life.
“The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Support

Prayer support is always appreciated. Check out the page above titled “Prayer Requests” for current praises and requests (updated anytime there’s a new blog post). If you would like to offer financial support in addition to prayer support, there are multiple methods to do this. The first is online. You can click here to make a preferenced donation to me through the CGGC Cross Cultural Ministry website. The second method is check by mail. Click here to access the donor form. Fill it out and return it to Churches of God, General Conference, Cross-Cultural Ministries, P.O. Box 926, Findlay, OH 45839. Please make your gift to CGGC Cross-Cultural Ministries preferenced for my support. The CGGC will provide receipts for your tax-deductible gifts, as long as checks are made out to the CGGC.

Leave a Reply

