God Wrecking Plans

I love plans. They are very comforting. There is structure. There is organization. I appreciate all of these aspects in my life. I feel like I am in control.

Perhaps this is why God decided to remind me that I am not.

It was a Saturday afternoon the day before my 21st birthday. I was working on filling out job applications and polishing resumes. As I took a break to check Facebook, I saw a very unique job opportunity. They needed someone with a degree in elementary education to teach three missionary children in Haiti during the upcoming school year. The prospect excited me. I started praying about this opportunity. “I think God might be about to wreck all of plans,” was one of my initial thoughts.

While it was exciting, it went against my plan. It was not set in stone, but after months of wavering I had finally settled on looking for a teaching job near Findlay. It was a comfortable plan. I could’ve stayed in the house am currently staying and I would’ve a base of people I already knew. Plus, I was not sure I was brave enough or adventurous enough to do it. More importantly though, I was not sure that was the right question. I was not certain of myself, but I was certain of God. If he called me to this, I knew he would equip me. It wasn’t a question of whether I could do it; it was a question of whether God could use me.

So many things came together that led me to feel a calling towards this position. Details over the years finally made sense. Back when I was in the Dominican Republic in 2012, our team was praying over a school there. As I was praying for the teachers there, I felt God say, “You will do this.” Fast forward to 2015 at the University of Findlay’s commencement. As I watched everyone receive their diplomas, I felt God leading, “You will have an elementary education degree. That’s it. Let me use this tool as I see fit.” I was reminded that plans are not set in stone and I would need to surrender and allow God to use my degree as He saw fit. In the beginning of 2016, as I was looking for jobs, I felt God leading, “You need to be brave. You need to be willing to go outside Findlay.” Begrudgingly, I decided to broaden my search to include the whole state of Ohio. The night before I saw the job posting, I went to a prayer retreat. As I was praying and reflecting on student teaching and searching for a job, I just kept feeling this dissatisfaction that I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to be doing. All of these instances seemed disjointed at the time, but immediately came rushing back to my mind when I saw the position. As I began to pray, read scripture, research, and seek counsel about the position, the feeling and signs of God’s call only became stronger.

It came down to a question of comfort versus risk. More accurately, it was comfort versus obedience.

I decided to apply for the job and was offered the position.

As I have started sharing the news with friends and family, people started asking, “Are you excited? Are you a little nervous?” The answer to both question is yes. Lots of excitement. Lots of nervousness. It’s this very interesting mix of high levels of many types of emotions at the same time.

At the same time, there is a growing sense of peace and excitement. I am astounded daily to think the God could use me. I am comforted to know that He will be with me and strengthen me through this experience. I am so excited to see how He will use this adventure to glorify Him.

It’s all very big. It’s not what I anticipated even just a couple months ago. It’s not what my original plan was. But, I think God may have bigger plans for me than I ever would have thought for myself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Support

As I prepare to depart for Haiti, I am looking for people to partner with me. I ask that you would consider joining this ministry through prayer and financial support. Check out the “Support” link up on the right for more information on how you may contribute in both prayer and financial support. Please make your gift to CGGC Cross-Cultural Ministries preferenced for my support. The CGGC will provide receipts for your tax-deductible gifts, as long as checks are made out to the CGGC.

One thought on “God Wrecking Plans

Leave a Reply

